Tags

, , , , , ,

This is a recipe which I use often for Sunday Roast. It’s super yummy and the flavours are subtle enough that I can turn the left overs into a thai curry. You can use this recipe to marinate chops as well. For me the recipe changes each and every time depending on what’s in the fridge.

Ingredients :

1 leg of lamb, bone in or boneless either is fine.

2 tablespoons of garlic, this sounds like a lot but you will need it all

2 sprigs of thyme

1 tsp of oregano

Zest of 1 lemon

juice of 2 lemons

1 cup chicken stock or water (more if needed)

Salt

olive oil

Method:

1. Combine garlic, zest, juice and herbs in a large bowl. Add your joint of meat and coat. Leave to marinate for around an hour.

2. Preheat oven to 150c

3. Place in a roasting pan, season with salt and drizzle with a little olive oil. Put 1 cup of chicken stock or water in the bottom to prevent drying out.

4. Roast for approximately 3 1/2 hours basting half way through with left over marinade.

Image

Some people love lamb fat. Personally I think it’s disgusting! It’s more greasy than other meats and makes me feel ill. For this reason I never make gravy from the pan. Instead I make a yoghurt dressing. It’s simple stuff and goes great with this recipe. Ill put that recipe in the bottom of this post.

Hints and Tips –

– With an hour to go add roast vegetables of your choice.

– If using chops instead of a roast grill on a medium heat for approximately 5 minutes on each side.

– You can omit one of the herbs if you don’t have it, I didn’t use oregano this time because I’d run out.

Yoghurt Dressing

For a quick dinner I don’t bother with draining the yoghurt and all that fancy stuff. I can guarantee it’ll taste just as great. If I’m running low on yogurt I often do half half with sour cream and that’s a great combination to.

Ingredients:

1 cup natural yoghurt

1 small garlic clove, crushed

juice of half a lemon

Small handful of dill or mint (or a mixture of both)

pinch of salt

Method:

1. Combine ingredients in a small bowl and mix well. Use more or less lemon juice to your taste. Serve with your chops or roast.